# 项目动机

创建 observable-hooks 的主要原因是我们希望通过简洁、灵活、可测试且性能较好的方式将复杂的异步逻辑(如精细动效、按键组合解析)与 React 组件连接起来,从而实现可复用的富组件。

# 为什么在 Hooks 中使用 RxJS

有了 React hooks 之后开发带状态的组件已变得十分简单。我们可以甚至可以大胆地在组件中复用复杂的异步逻辑。

但 hooks 仅仅是一套在组件中连接状态逻辑的机制,对于状态逻辑本身,特别是复杂的异步逻辑,我们依然需要其它工具来减少设计复杂度。

社区中已经有许多专注于特定异步场景的库,如 swr 用于服务器取数(可以看看在 observable-hooks 中如何结合 Suspense 实现同样的 stale-while-revalidate 机制)。这就像对比 Redux Saga 与 Redux Observable。学习使用这些库得到的知识并不能像 RxJS(或者响应式编程,一个与语言无关的编程范式)一样可以转移复用。你可以用 RxJS 解决几乎任何复杂的异步场景,且同时保持良好的可读性与可测试性。

当然 RxJS 确实存在陡峭的学习曲线,但几乎都是一次性的概念性知识。不必被巨量的 RxJS 操作符吓到,大部分情况下只用一小部分就足够。同时可以看看这个有趣的操作符决策树

# 为什么造轮子

我们首先尝试了 rxjs-hooks 但很快遇到来一些奇怪的 TypeScript 问题。我们还认为其 useEventCallback 负责了太多东西,可能会存在性能问题,且因 hooks 固定顺序的规则难以被优化。

另外随着团队将注意力转到了类 redux-observable 的 ayanami 项目,该项目已不再活跃开发。

故最终我们重新思考了整个整合机制,重头设计了新的 API 并创建了 observable-hooks 来连接 RxJS Observable 与 React 组件。

# 它不是什么

这个库不是为了取代状态管理库如 Redux 而是为了避免将大量状态逻辑托管到状态管理中心,从而尽可能在组件中复用。

使用这个库并不代表就要将所有东西都转换成 Observable(且不推荐这么做)。这个库与其它 hooks 可以很好的并存,在需要的地方使用即可。

# Motivation

The main motivation of creating observable-hooks is that we want a simple, flexible, testable and performant solution to reuse complex async logic (e.g. intricate animation and user interaction sequence) with the Component.

# Why RxJS in Hooks

Nowadays developing stateful React Components is greatly simplified with hooks. We can boldly put complex logic in hooks and reuse it with the Component.

But hooks is just a mechanism to connect stateful logic to React Components. For complex logic itself, async specifically, we still need other libraries to reduce the complexity.

There are libraries that focus only on a few specific aysnc scenarios, like swr for remote data fetching(See how to achieve the same stale-while-revalidate pattern in observable-hooks with Suspense). This is like comparing Redux Saga with Redux Observable. The knowledge you gain from learning how to use these libraries is not as transferable as RxJS(or Reactive Programming, a language-independent programming paradigm) which is an all-round solution for async logic. You can use RxJS for almost any async scenario and still maintain good readability and testability.

Yes there is a learning curve on RxJS but that is mostly a one-time conceptual thing. Don't be scared by the number of RxJS opertators. You most likely only need a few of them. Also see the Operator Decision Tree.

# Why Another Library

We first tried rxjs-hooks but quickly encountered some tricky TypeScript issues. We also think the useEventCallback is taking too much responsibilities which is a performance issue that is hard to fix due to rules of hooks.

Unfortunately the project is not actively developed as the team has shifted focus to the redux-observable-like ayanami project.

Ultimately we rethought the whole integration, redesigned API from the ground up and created observable-hooks for connecting RxJS Observable to React Components.

# What It Is Not

This library is not for replacing state management tools like Redux but to reduce the need of dumping everything into global state.

Using this library does not mean you have to turn everything observable which is not encouraged. It plays well side by side with other hooks. Use it only on places where it's needed.